A new adventure

As most of you may know by now, there are going to be a few changes around here.

If you have visited Winging it in Motown lately, you will notice that there’s a new editorial up on the front page, by me.  This is because the guys at WIM have asked me to be a full time author at their site, to which I emphatically said yes.

I know it has only been four short months since the inception of Hockeytown USA, and it’s been a great four months to say the least.  We got to witness the Red Wings struggling near the bottom of the Western Conference, only to go on an unprecedented tear to make the playoffs for the 19th consecutive season.  I hope you enjoyed the ride as you followed the excitement right here at Hockeytown USA.

But as is the case in life, all good must come to an end.  However, in this case, the end of one good things has led to an even better situation.  I will get exposure I never could have dreamed of over at SB Nation, with no disrespect to the wonderful operation here at WordPress.

I want to thank you all for discovering and following me here on Hockeytown USA, and I hope you’ll follow me on my journey over to WIM.  But most importantly, I want to thank you all for welcoming me into Red Wings Nation with open arms.

Will this be the end of Hockeytown USA?  I don’t know.  I’d hate to see my brainchild fade away, but if that is the case so be it.  I will say that I have immensely enjoyed my time here, and it is an experience I’ll never forget.

Don’t worry about me, I’m not leaving you altogether.  In the words of the late great Ernie Harwell:

But I think good-byes are sad, and I’d much rather say hello. Hello to a new adventure.

Now God has a new adventure for me. And I’m ready to move on. So I leave you with a deep sense of appreciation for your longtime loyalty and support.

Well said Ernie, well said.

2 Responses

  1. It’s been a lot of fun watching this blog, it was one of my first stops after checking game results. I find your commentary and thoughtful remarks add a great deal of enjoyment to my Red Wings fanship. Thank you, and I will look forward to seeing your writing on WIM in the future, which is another Wings blog I am also very fond of following. Kind Regards and best wishes. (I find it even sadder that the day I read your final entry was the same day I find I have to wait until October to see the Wings on ice again)

  2. Yes, good quote. Thanks for blogging.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

